Comfort for the Depressed & Cauliflower rice is messy.

Okay – pardon me but before I “get on with it” I’ve got to get a rant out first. And it has to do with this:

IMG_2769

First of all, I am all for freedom of religion – practice, choice, etc. I am not, however, a fan of anyone pushing their religious beliefs upon me unsolicited. Nor am I partial to someone passing judgement on me for my beliefs.

Secondly, I am not sure whether I should assume that the woman (who was with her husband, mind you) that handed this to me in the grocery store tonight, was merely lacking social intelligence… or if I should be offended that someone thinks that a single girl obviously grocery shopping for one looks as if she is DEPRESSED and needs COMFORT.

*end rant*

My single girl shopping trip was a wonderful one this evening! I spent the night prepping two crockpot meals and a sweet potato breakfast number.

IMG_2766

This deliciousness is currently making my apartment smell marvelous! When I go Paleo, one of my favorite (and sometimes my only) go-to is Paleomg.com. This girl churns out amazing paleo recipes and end up with more flavor than the junky version of it! What you see there is Maple Blueberry Bacon Breakfast Carnitas in-the-making.

On the menu for breakfast tomorrow is this yumminess and dinner will be Brazilian Curry Chicken served over cauliflower rice 🙂 my tummy is smiling already.

Tomorrow begins my journey to fit-ness (again) with Crossfit West End and the Paleo diet has already commenced. I’ve put on a few pounds since my surgery in November and it’s time to clean up my act. So said cauliflower rice… I’m sure you carb lovers out there are wondering what the heck this is…

Only the best substitute for rice… ever! So – chop up one head of cauliflower, put those pieces through a food processor on the “rice” or “grate” setting – put in a pot to brown for a moment then add 1/2 cup of vegetable broth. Cook for about 12 minutes and you’re good to go! Trust me – you won’t know the difference. (side note: these little buggers are messy but they don’t mean any harm so don’t get too frustrated with them)

As you all saw, my current stats (according to my Escali scale) are 147 lbs, 28% body fat and 51% hydration. I’m posting these here so to help me stay accountable. So, if you see me stuffing my face with something I shouldn’t – call me out!

1. My coworker and I have coined our water consumption goal the “gallon challenge” – we are keeping one another on point and drinking at least a gallon of water a day.

2. My statistics project requires that I measure how long it takes me to complete an activity 4 to 5 days a week for the next two months. My goal is to measure how long it takes me to run two miles – wish me luck.

3. No alcohol, no coffee until February 14th. – no I don’t have some hot v-day date lined up… well, actually I do. I will be going to my sorority’s 25th Anniversary reunion at Radford and I know this weekend will require both coffee and alcohol. So my hot date is with my sisters (jealous!? – you should be).

I think that’s enough over-exertion and deprivation all rolled into one – now help me stay on track, will ya?!

Leave a Reply

